Seriously?

Today I saw a news video with three different stories on yahoo’s Omg Now [yes, I am aware of how lame that title is for a news section, but what can you do?] Anyway, the first story in the video was about whether or not Nicolas Cage is a vampire. Apparently a Civil War era photo was found and the man in it looks identical to Nicolas Cage. So of course instead of assuming it’s a relative, fake picture or just a coincidence, they emphasize the vampire option. I’m quite certain that the only reason this is even mentioned is because of the Twilight franchise.

Personally, I have nothing against Twilight; I even read the books and didn’t find them as terrible as many say they are. I do, however, find the popularity and overall culture consumption to be very annoying. It seems that nowadays you can’t look anywhere without seeing something Twilight related; whether it’s mocking or praising the series. I would really like to get out of this vampire mania, especially considering that the vampires aren’t really vampires. They don’t kill people, they live in the forest and they sparkle. They’re more like fairies than anything. But, of course, that’s just my opinion. The movies are what made Twilight suck so much. [pun intended]

Another news story I read today was of an actress from Modern Family poking fun at a Glee star’s red carpet pose and then being attacked on Twitter about it [don’t you just love the smell of internet trolls in the evening?] I think being mad at the young star is an overreaction, she was just joking around. It wasn’t a malicious comment, it’s equivalent to someone teasing a friend; sure it might not be the nicest thing to say but it’s clear that the intent isn’t mean. I don’t know, maybe it’s just me but I think some people just take things too seriously. I also think the fact that the young girl is famous plays a role in the scenario. People tend to make a bigger deal if someone famous does something mildly insulting than if someone who isn’t famous does the same thing. If anyone reading this has an opinion they’d like to share feel free to comment, I enjoy seeing other people’s views on things. It makes you think about aspects you may not have noticed before. Anyway that’s my spiel for the day, until next time.

Leave a Reply

