Dumb Friends

Let me start out by saying that I’m smart. Not in a cocky ‘i-am-so-much-smarter-than-you-therefore-i-am-better’ way, it’s just a fact. Anyway, I was talking to my best friend in Pennsylvania and we were discussing our views on marriage. I was saying that finishing your education, whether it be high school, bachelor’s degree, master’s degree etc, should come first along with a stable career and then you can worry about marriage after you’ve got all of your ducks in a row. She found this hysterical and thought I was joking around with her. For the life of me I can’t understand how this was comical. She finds marriage to be very important and she can’t wait to get married, hence her many failed relationships. She stays single for a short amount of time before she’s in another ‘serious relationship’ (which lasts about a month or two) and then the cycle repeats. Now, I’m not saying that’s a bad way to go about life but I do think it is immature.

I’ve never found being in a relationship important, I was always focusing on my grades and extracurriculars and anything else that would help get me into a good college and ensure my future. My aforementioned best friend, however, put minimal effort into school and instead focused on socializing. Whenever I talked to her, or any of my high school friends for that matter, I felt that if I didn’t ‘dumb myself down’ for them, they wouldn’t really care or take me seriously. If I said something remotely mature and/or intelligent they laughed, said I was cute, or rolled their eyes and told me to stop being so mature or boring. Maybe it’s just me but I’ve known since about 7th-8th grade that drama and ‘high school’ problems aren’t important and that I should ignore them altogether.

I really was, and still am, the most mature out of my friends except for one, she’s on the same level as me. Long story short: my second high school wasn’t too school-oriented. They cared more about prom and football than their futures and I think that is a waste of high school because once you graduate, no one is going to care if you were the most popular or were voted Homecoming Queen. Once you become an adult your life starts, high school is only preparing you for what’s to come so people should focus more on their education and less on partying. If anyone who sees this would like to give their view on the subject please do, I’m curious to see what others think.

Leave a Reply

