Sleeping Children [because that doesn’t sound creepy or anything]

I promise that this isn’t a creepy post but it does have to do with sleeping children. Or, to be more specific, their sleeping habits. My parents tell me countless stories about me not wanting to sleep as a child. One of their favorites being when i outright said [in a long, drawn out, whiny, child voice] that “sleeping’s stupid”. They think it is just the funniest thing to repeatedly tell me, especially when I’m exhausted. For example, when I was a 7th grader and was still adjusting to the workload, I was up late doing homework a lot. So of course, when it was 11 at night and I was still working at my prealgebra, they’d come in, laugh at me and say “sleeping’s stupid, right Kass?” I’d just give them an irritated glare and mentally weep as I returned to my work. Children just don’t know how good they have it.

I would give my left arm to get more sleep at night. Both arms if I never had to worry about waking up in the morning, thus allowing me to lay in bed for as many hours as I want. Being a child is easy yet they always want to grow up. I was like that until somewhere in sophomore year. I realized that in three years I’d be in college. In another four or so I’d be a working adult. The thought absolutely petrified me and right then and there I decided that I never wanted to leave highschool and that I was perfectly content living with my parents for the rest of my life. Sure I’d never get married or have a life of my own if I stayed with my parents forever but at least I wouldn’t have to worry about supporting myself and possibly failing at it.

Well veering more towards sleeping again, I guess sleeping is one more thing that separates the child’s mindset from the adult’s, and even teenager’s [or at least some]. It is a cruel irony that when you have all the time in the world to sleep you don’t want to, and when you want to sleep you can’t. Children just don’t realize how easy they have it. No bills, no rent, no job, no grocery shopping, no family to support. Nothing. I have no reason to be bitter about paying bills and such, everyone has to at some point, but I think children and adolescents should cut adults some slack, there’s a lot on their plates and it’s hard work. Wow that was such a parent rant. Well I guess since I don’t have kids to preach to I do the life lesson thing on the internet. Kids [or teens since they’re most likely to read this] you’re welcome for my insight. Good night, I hope you get the amount of rest you’d like tonight.

Leave a Reply

