2011 MTV EMAs

I started this post on the 7th but then the Penn State Scandal popped up and I just had to give my opinion about it and then I got super busy so yes, this is way late/out of context considering all that’s happened since the award show but it was important to me so I’m going to post about it anyway. Sunday November 6th was MTV’s European Music Awards and I usually don’t watch award shows because I don’t really care to see who wins. Yesterday, though, I watched the online live streaming (because America doesn’t show Europe’s award shows on television) from the pink carpet before show at 2:00pm until it ended at 5:00pm. Why you ask? Because my favorite music group of all time was nominated in the Worldwide Act cateregory. So, now it’s time to present the winners of each cateregory. (I’ll put the name of the singer/group as the caption for the picture of said singer/group)

1) Best Alternative

30 Seconds to Mars

Well I don’t know much about this band but I’ve heard and enjoyed a few of their songs. They were up against, Arcade Fire, Arctic Monkeys, My Chemical Romance, and The Strokes. To be honest I knew the winner would probably be either 30 Seconds to Mars or My Chemical Romance. I could be wrong, but I don’t think the other bands are very popular and what is an award show if not a popularity contest?

2) Biggest Fans

Lady Gaga

Yay Lady Gaga beat out Justin Bieber! I thought for sure that Justin Bieber would win because his fanbase is so strong. But Gaga’s little monsters fought and won it in the end. Congrats Lady Gaga; you’re loved.

3) Best Live

Katy Perry

I happen to love Katy Perry’s songs, sure they aren’t deep or meaningful but then again, are there any nowadays? She’s a very successful singer and my personal favorites are California Gurls [of course, I’m biased] and Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F) even if Rebecca Black is in it. I’ve heard Katy Perry sing live and I think Lady Gaga is a better live singer than her but since she won so many awards, I really don’t mind.

4) Best Female

Lady Gaga

Oh Lady Gaga, how can you not love her? Even if you think her songs are terrible or you want to rip your hair out every time you see one of her crazy outfits, you can’t help but admit that she has major spirit. Her lyrics to Born this Way are an inspiration for everyone to realize they’re unique and you shouldn’t try to change yourself to fit the views of others. Keep up the good work.

5) Best Rock

Linkin Park

I’m so glad that Linkin Park won this award. Up until last year this was my favorite American band. Then sometime in 2010-early 2011 I realized I like Korn a lot better. [LP’s newest album was a big part of that decision, it kind of sucked] Well anyway LP was against Coldplay, Foo Fighters, Kings of Leon and Red Hot Chili Peppers and I must say, i believe LP was the best. I hate the Chili Peppers and for them, no amount of California based songs could win my heart.

6) Best Male

Justin Bieber

-sigh- You had to know this was coming, right? I am personally not a Belieber, not because I have anything against him exactly, I just think he’s incredibly overrated. Funny and true story: When his video for “One Time” came out it was one of itunes’ weekly free videos. As you probably guessed, he wasn’t popular yet and I had no idea he existed until seeing this video. I watched the preview and my heart melted. Why? I found it adorable that a twelve year old white boy was rapping and acting like a little gangster. I even called my, then twelve years old, brother to come in and see this adorable kid rap. Then a few weeks later I saw a magazine headline “Justin Bieber turns sixteen!” I was so shocked you wouldn’t believe it. His competitors were Bruno Mars, David Guetta, Eminem and Kanye West. I think Eminem should have won, but at least it wasn’t Kanye.

7) Best HipHop

Eminem

Speaking of one of [if not THE] best white rappers of our time, he won best hip hop. Since he was against Lil Wayne, JAY Z & Kanye West, Pitbull and Snoop Dogg that’s quite an accomplishment. I thought Jay Z and Kanye would win since Jay Z if so powerful in the hip hop world but I’m glad he didn’t because he bugs me. I think he’s okay, he’s not my favorite performer but that’s just because I never listen to his songs.

8) Best PUSH

Bruno Mars

To be perfectly honest, I have no idea what the PUSH award is for. I’ve looked it up but to no avail; it seems that those who know refuse to share the knowledge. Oh well, if you know what it is please tell me because I’m confused. Alexis Jordan, Big Time Rush,  Far East Movement, Jessie J, Katy B, LMFAO, Neon Trees, Theophilus London, and  Wiz Khalifa were the other nominees and I’m fine with Bruno Mars winning since I couldn’t care less about the others.

9) Best New

Bruno Mars

Bruno Mars again. Hmm well I didn’t really like Lazy Song but other than that I like his songs. Especially “It Will Rain” that is featured in The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1 [Don’t judge me, I used to be obsessed with Twilight, got over that after the first movie and am now merely watching it for closure.] The other nominees were Far East Movement, Jessie J, LMFAO and Wiz Khalifa. I hate Jessie J so I’m happy she didn’t win but I happen to like LMFAO more than Bruno Mars. Oh well, at least Bruno looks good! [don’t try to deny his powers of looking cool, did you even see the picture I posted for this award?]

10) Best Pop

Justine Bieber

Ugh sorry to any Bieber fans that read this blog post but I just cannot find anything nice to say about him [except that he somehow managed to get a very pretty girlfriend. I guess Selena sees something in him that I just don’t but I’m glad they’re happy.] He beat Britney Spears, Katy Perry, Lady Gaga and Rihanna, all of whom I believe are better than Justin but what can you do, it is a popularity contest after all.

11) Best World Stage

30 Seconds to Mars

Yet another award I don’t understand but whatever, I’ve already talked about this group and I have no qualms with them althought I think that in the list of the other nominees [Arcade Fire, The Black Eyed Peas, Diddy Dirty Money, Enrique Iglesias, Kings of Leon, Linkin Park, My Chemical Romance, Ozzy Osborne and Snoop Dogg] I think there are some others that should have won it instead.

12/14) Best Song/Best Video

Lady Gaga

What a shock Lady Gaga won both of these for the same song: “Born this Way” and I think she really deserved it. I know this post makes me seem like a Little Monster but honestly I’m not a super fan, I just like that she encourages individuality and discourages judging others for it. Anyway, she was getting chocked up accepting the award for best song, which she was up against Adele’s “Rolling In The Deep”, Bruno Mars’ “Grenade”, Jennifer Lopez ft Pitbull’s “On The Floor” and Katy Perry’s “Firework. For best video the other nominees were Adele’s “Rolling In The Deep”, Beastie Boys’ “Make Some Noise”, Beyoncé’s “Run The World (Girls)” and Justice’s “Civilization”. I’m glad she won both and I hope she continues winning awards. P.S. I marked this as 12 and 14 because that is the order the awards were given in.

13) Worldwide Act

BIGBANG Left to Right: Seungri, G Dragon, Tae-yang, Daesung, and T.O.P

Okay finally, this is why I sat through three hours of people I don’t care about: BIGBANG YAY!! Okay, I’ll try to stop fan girling over this; especially since this happened almost a month ago. -deep breath- Alright, I’m good. So This award went to groups and singers from different areas all over the world. The other nominees were: Restart from Latin America, Lena from Europe, Britney Spears from North America [and who I considered to be the only competition for Bigbang] and Abdelfattah Grini from Africa/India/Middle East. I’ve been in love with Korean culture, and more specifically Kpop, for about three or four years now and I absolutely love Bigbang. Each member is so unique and they are all cool, goofy, sexy down to earth men. Bigbang hwaiting I love you guys.

Well that wraps up this award show [even though you probably already learned the results weeks ago if you actually cared]. Oh well until next time, whenever that is.

Leave a Reply

