The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1

Okay, feel free to judge me because I won’t blame you one bit. I am quite aware of why someone would shake their heads in disappointment about me watching this film. I also wouldn’t blame you for leaving this blog and never looking back. Yes, the storyline isn’t that great. Yes, the actors are pretty terrible. Yes, this is perhaps one of the most overrated fandoms that ever was. Even knowing all of these things I can’t help but watch them. In 2008, just slightly before the saga burst into the flames of popularity, my friend recommended the book. Before that, I didn’t read much; sure I liked it but I wasn’t crazy obsessed with any books in particular. In fact, I didn’t even want to read Twilight at first. But I did and oh boy did that change me forever. I fell in love with that book series to the point of obsession. I reluctantly admit that I have read every book in that saga ten times each. In one summer. It was pretty bad for a while but after I saw the second movie I got over the series. I think it was all of the hype that was caused by the movies that killed the series for me. Well, that and I realized that the books are for pre-teens. So now I watch the movies merely for old times sake. It’s hard to explain why I would watch something that I’ve grown out of, but I guess it’s the same for all super fans of geeky franchises can relate. Star Wars, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, World of Warcraft, Halo, Call of Duty; the list goes on and on: we all want to watch the next movie or play the next game, even if we aren’t particularly in love with it anymore. I guess it’s just one of those things you need to experience for yourself to understand.

So how about I get to the movie now, I bet you’re almost asleep by now with my long, boring intro. Well I definitely liked this movie better than the previous three. I don’t know what it was, either the directing, writing, camera work, or what but I think this movie was done more well done than the others. It also seems to be the first one where the protagonists, Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson, seemed happy. Usually Rob looked upset while Kristen…well she showed no emotions. While she still had those moments [actually she still looked pretty emotionless a lot] she also looked happy in multiple scenes, as did Rob. So, for this I’m proud of them. The scene where Bella gives birth is enough to make the most gung-ho mommy-to-be cringe in fear at having a little miracle. I’ll spare you the details because for all I know, one of you still wants to see the movie [and if you do I’m sorry that it seems like I’m teasing it but it’s mostly myself I’m making fun of.] but I hated it. Also, I don’t see why everyone hates the name Renesmee, sure it’s odd but I think it sounds kind of pretty. Also, if Stephanie Meyer is going to reinvent the vampire’s traits, habits and now fertilizing abilities what is so weird about her making up her own name? People will judge anything these days. Well that’s my mini movie review [lamest and shortest review ever] and I’ll let you either watch the movie yourself or judge me harshly in the comments. Either way, have a good day.

Leave a Reply

