Happy Holidays?

Whatever it may be!

Well it’s five days after Christmas and I just found the time to blog about it. I also wanted to make sure that when I made this post, all of the religious holidays in December are over. Christmas and Hanukkah are both done [I think] and even though Kwanza is still going strong, I decided to just do the post now. You know that stereotype that Americans are uncultured and don’t know anything about the countries outside of their own? Well to some degree, that is true for me. Not all countries [I know quite a bit about Mexico and South Korea] but for most of them, yes. This is also true about different religions. Hell, this is true about my OWN religion. So in order to not screw up and offend anyone, I’m not going to talk about the religion behind the different holidays around this time of year. Instead, I’m going to talk about commercialized Christmas.

Well, everyone can agree that the basis of Christmas is to celebrate Jesus’ birth. And before it gets mentioned, yes I know Jesus wasn’t really born on December 25th but that’s not really the point; the point is to celebrate his life and appreciate what we have and all that jazz. It’s funny, as an American Thanksgiving is advertised more of a family holiday than Christmas but to me it has always felt like the opposite was true. Thanksgiving seems to be more forced than Christmas; as if you have to spend time with your family that day while Christmas is when you actually want to see them. I never really liked Thanksgiving because I don’t like turkey or the other option: ham.

Speaking of food, it really sucks having two holidays that come with large dinners right next to each other. Right after you finally finish your leftover turkey by eating nothing but turkey for days, Christmas comes around and you have more leftovers. Yes, in retrospect having too much food is such a first world problem that others wish they had. I realize this, I’m not an idiot, but growing up in an American middle-class family, these are the kinds of things that bother me. I don’t always think about what I have, I sometimes focus on the little things that are wrong.

One of the reasons I love these holidays are that it reminds me of everything that I have and, at least for a couple of months, I appreciate the things I take for granted, such as my health, family, friends, possessions etc. It’s sad that as a society, Americans [and I’m sure people in other countries too] forget how lucky they are.

Okay last part of the rant [I think] Christmas has become less about family, appreciation and oh yeah, the whole CHRIST part of CHRISTmas and more about presents. It’s kind of sad how the media has influenced this holiday. Even if you’re like me and aren’t super religious, I think that being together as a family should at least mean more to you than the presents you get. I’ve seen all sorts of people on the internet complaining about not getting the new iPhone and saying how they have horrible parents for not getting it for them. All I can think is “shut up you spoiled little kids.” Seriously, it’s disturbing how ignorant and whiny some kids can be.

All in all I hope everyone enjoyed [or are still enjoying] their holiday season. This is the time of year to celebrate togetherness so have a wonderful time with your friends and family!

Leave a Reply

